• 01788 542355
  • This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Mathematics Faculty

The mathematics department at The Avon Valley School is an exciting, vibrant place to be. Our teaching is classroom based and uses a variety of methods including oral work, written worked examples and practice. However, the differing needs of the students in the class very much in mind, and a good deal of time is spent giving individual attention, both during lessons and at other times. It is by no means unusual to see members of the department working with individuals or small groups at lunchtimes, after school or at other convenient times. This is a major strength of the department.

A brief overview of the topics covered by the faculty in Key Stage 3

Mathematics

At Key Stage 3, students follow the National Curriculum outline. All students are tested every term on the main areas of maths including:

  • Number
  • Ratio and Proportion
  • Geometry
  • Algebra
  • Probability
  • Statistics.

A GCSE style assessment is used for all of these assessments in order that pupils can become familiar with the format. All assessments will be followed up with full feedback to the student and a ‘Closing the Gap’ retest; a summary of which can be found in their exercise book. The papers themselves will then come home to parents for sharing and future revision.

A brief overview of the topics covered by the faculty in Key Stage 4

Mathematics at Key stage 4

Edexcel GCSE Mathematics

All students study the Edexcel syllabus, however, the final tier of examination entry will be made in collaboration with each individual student and the exam most likely to result in the best grade that they can achieve without danger of being ungraded. Whichever tier is selected there will be three examination papers sat at the end of year 11. Each paper is a written paper, one and a half hours in length. There is one non-calculator and two calculator papers. The three papers combined will assess all aspects of the curriculum throughout Number, Ratio and Proportion, Geometry, Algebra, Probability and Statistics. Students will have lots of opportunities to practise these style of examinations and after each one they will go through the exam and then sit a ‘Closing the Gap’ paper. The practice papers will then come home each time showing the grade achieved with three areas of focus identified.

Exam board specification link


Mathematics Staff

Mrs D Tyas

Faculty Leader
dtyas@avonvalleyschool.uk

Mr J Patton

Assistant Faculty Leader
jpatton@avonvalleyschool.uk

Ms S Mancini

Assistant Faculty Leader
smancini@avonvalleyschool.uk

Mrs C Richmond

Teacher of Mathematics
crichmond@avonvalleyschool.uk

Miss E Quarmayne

Teacher of Mathematics
rquarmayne@avonvalleyschool.uk

Miss E Hunter

Teacher of Mathematics
rhunter@avonvalleyschool.uk

Miss A Kanyoli

Teacher of Mathematics
akanyoli@avonvalleyschool.uk

Mrs A Bearpark

Teacher of Mathematics
abearpark@avonvalleyschool.uk

Ms K Hadfield

Teacher of Mathematics

khadfield@avonvalleyschool.uk

© 2019 The Avon Valley School. All Rights Reserved.