• 01788 542355
  • This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Apollo

Miss Labreize
Achievement Leader
clabreize@avonvalleyschool.uk
Miss Hicks
Student Welfare Leader
lhicks@avonvalleyschool.uk

Fortune

Mr Phelan
Achievement Leader
dphelan@avonvalleyschool.uk
Mr Cunningham
Student Welfare Leader
ncunningham@avonvalleyschool.uk

Achievement

At The Avon Valley School we strive to nurture our students into becoming happy, confident and successful citizens of the 21st century. We aim that our students not only know success academically, but also make a personal journey throughout their time with us, developing their confidence, leadership skills, social skills, communication skills and many other attributes for becoming a well-rounded adult.

The school believes that praise and reward are motivating factors that encourage our students to push themselves to achieve their very best. Student achievement and effort are acknowledged through a range of rewards;

  • House Points are awarded to students through an on-line portal.
  • Praise postcards are sent home to parents and carers.
  • Students are nominated for the Headteacher's Award weekly.
  • Each term, a Year Group or House assembly celebrates the successes of students rewarded for sustained effort and achievement..
  • An annual prize giving in July of each year to celebrate academic success in each curriculum area.

As a school, we are proud of the relationship that exists between staff and students and praise can come through a simple "well done" from the teacher in the classroom, to feedback in the written form.

The school promotes a wide range of extracurricular opportunities and experiences that develop the interests, talents and abilities of our students. Getting involved allows our students to know success outside of the classroom and experiences are diverse and open to all students. Experiences range from participating in the school productions, playing in sports teams, taking part in trips, taking part in extracurricular activities, applying to be a prefect or learning to play an instrument.

The social and personal development of our students is one key aspect of educating our students. The academic progress of our students is equally as important.

When teachers, students and parents/carers work together, anything is possible. Student progress and achievement are continually tracked to ensure that each and every child is making optimum progress. Each child is placed into a tutor group and their progress is monitored on a day to day basis, they are also supported by their House’s Achievement Leader and Student Welfare Leader.


Garrick

Mr Owen
Achievement Leader
mowen@avonvalleyschool.uk
Mr Herring
Student Welfare Leader
pherring@avonvalleyschool.uk

Phoenix

Mrs Owen
Achievement Leader
lowen@avonvalleyschool.uk
Miss Ranger
Student Welfare Leader
jranger@avonvalleyschool.uk
© 2019 The Avon Valley School. All Rights Reserved.