• 01788 542355
  • This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Apollo

Miss Labreize
Achievement Leader
clabreize@avonvalleyschool.uk
Miss Hicks
Student Welfare Leader
lhicks@avonvalleyschool.uk

Fortune

Mr Phelan
Achievement Leader
dphelan@avonvalleyschool.uk
Mr Cunningham
Student Welfare Leader
ncunningham@avonvalleyschool.uk

Parents and Carers

Parents and carers


At The Avon Valley School and Performing Arts College we believe that parental support can have a huge impact upon a student's academic success. On this page you will find some useful tips and resources that your child can use to help them prepare for their exams.

If you have any concerns about your child’s progress please contact their Achievement Leader.

Equipment for Revision  

  • Pens, pencils, ruler, eraser, sharpener  
  • Scissors and glue  
  • Paper, notebooks, revision cards, post-it notes  
  • Highlighters, colouring pencils/pens
  • Revision guides and a dictionary  
  • Calculator

Tips for Successful Revision  

  • Use a quiet room, which is free from distractions  
  • Study in a well lit room  Use a desk or table
  • Switch off mobile phones and other devices  
  • Have equipment to hand  
  • Use the information and resources provided by the teacher

As a school we subscribe to a number of websites and online learning resources including Google Classroom where all homework and resources can be found.

Useful Revision Techniques

Some revision techniques will apply best to certain subjects, others are more general. Ultimately, the learner will select their preferred method.  

  • Mind Maps – Start with a central topic and create branches with sub branches that contain facts, figures, ideas and information.  
  • Revision Cards – A postcard sized card which contains information about a topic, often in bullet point form.  
  • Flow Charts – Used to help learn processes or sequences of events  
  • Key Word/Definition Cards – Used to help learn key subject specific vocabulary.
  • Mnemonics- Uses initials/abbreviations for learning information.  
  • Highlighting Texts – Read a text and highlight key points  
  • Post-it Notes – Useful for writing short reminders within revision books.  
  • Producing Time Lines – Used to help learn the sequence of events  
  • Using Images/Drawing Diagrams – Useful for learning how things work. Also useful for visualising information.
  • Watching Video Clips – Often found on revision websites.  
  • Speaking and Listening about a topic – Including discussing topics with others

Garrick

Mr Owen
Achievement Leader
mowen@avonvalleyschool.uk
Mr Herring
Student Welfare Leader
pherring@avonvalleyschool.uk

Phoenix

Mrs Owen
Achievement Leader
lowen@avonvalleyschool.uk
Miss Ranger
Student Welfare Leader
jranger@avonvalleyschool.uk
© 2019 The Avon Valley School. All Rights Reserved.